General Body

The General Body provides overall policy directives to the PKSF management in order to help the organisation undertake meaningful activities to fulfill its objective of alleviating poverty of the under-privileged people through employment generation. It oversees and advises on measures and initiatives that seek to establish and ensure the human dignity of the poor. Among other functions, the General Body approves the annual budget and the audited accounts of the organisation. It also reviews the annual report presented by the Governing Body of the organisation.

The meeting of the General Body is required to be held at least once a year. However, in 2012, the General Body decided to meet twice a year: the Annual General Meeting (AGM) would preferably be held during the month of December and the other General Meeting (GM) during the month of June. The General Body may consist of a maximum of 25 members. Out of them, the Government of Bangladesh (GoB) nominates a maximum of 15 members, including the Chairman, from amongst persons associated with government agencies, voluntary organisations or private individuals having a successful record of service in poverty alleviation and/or an interest in such activities. The Chairman must not be in the service of the Republic. The General Body, in the AGM, nominates the remaining 10 members from the PKSF’s Partner Organisations (POs) and/or private individuals. As on 29 August 2019, there are 21 members in the General Body.


(AS ON 29 AUGUST 2019)

Dr Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad
Chairman, PKSF
Member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC),
which won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007

Mr Mohammad Moinuddin Abdullah
Managing Director, PKSF
Former Senior Secretary to the Government of Bangladesh

Ambassador Munshi Faiz Ahmad
Bangladesh Institute of International and Strategic Studies (BIISS)

Ms Parveen Mahmud, FCA
Chairman, Under Privileged Children’s Educational Programs (UCEP) Bangladesh
Former Deputy Managing Director, PKSF &
Former Founding Managing Director, Grameen Telecom Trust

Ms Nazneen Sultana
Former Deputy Governor, Bangladesh Bank (the Central Bank of Bangladesh)

Dr Toufic Ahmad Choudhury
Former Director General
Bangladesh Institute of Bank Management (BIBM)

Mr Md. Fazlul Haque
Additional Secretary
Financial Institutions Division
Ministry of Finance, Government of Bangladesh

Mr Ishtiaq Uddin Ahmad
Country Representative for the IUCN
(International Union for Conservation of Nature) and
Former Chief Conservator of Forests, Bangladesh

Mr Nazir Ahmed Khan
Former Chief Executive
Bangladesh Bank Training Academy

Dr Nazneen Ahmed
Senior Research Fellow
Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies (BIDS)

Professor Shafi Ahmed
Former Professor
Department of English
Jahangirnagar University

Mrs Monowara Hakim Ali
First Vice President
Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industries (FBCCI)

Mr S. M. Wahiduzzaman Babur
Head of Finance, Admin, HR and IT
Practical Action Bangladesh

Dr Mojib Uddin Ahamed
Department of Tourism and Hospitality Management
University of Dhaka

Dr Ramanimohon Debnath
Journalist, Economic Columnist

Mr Mohsin Ali
Executive Director
WAVE Foundation (a Partner Organisation of the PKSF)

Ms Monowara Begum
Executive Director
PROTTYASHI (a Partner Organisation of the PKSF)

Dr Niaz Ahmed Khan
Professor, Department of Development Studies
University of Dhaka

Mr Helal Ahmad Chowdhury
Supernumerary Professor,Bangladesh Institute of Bank Management (BIBM) and
Former Managing Director, Pubali Bank

Dr Sharifa Begum
Former Senior Research Fellow
Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies (BIDS)

Mr Arijit Chowdhury
Additional Secretary
Financial Institutions Division
Ministry of Finance, Government of Bangladesh