General Body

The General Body is responsible for the overall policy directions to the management of PKSF to take care of its activities. It also analyzes and approves the annual budget and the audited accounts of the Foundation. Moreover, the General Body considers the annual report presented by the Governing Body of PKSF. The meeting of this group is required to be held at least once every year. However, since 2012, the General Body has decided to meet twice a year: the Annual General Meeting (AGM) would preferably be held during the month of December and the other General Meeting during the month of June.

The General Body may have a maximum of 25 members. Out of them, the Government of Bangladesh (GoB) nominates a maximum of 15 members, including the Chairman, from amongst persons associated with the government agencies, voluntary organisations or private individuals having a successful record of service in poverty alleviation and/or interest in such activities. The Chairman must not be in the service of the Republic. The General Body, in the AGM, nominates the remaining 10 members who are from Partner Organisations (POs) and/or private individuals. As of December 31, 2014, there are 22 members in the General Body. 

The Members of the General Body
(as on December 31, 2014)

Mr. Qazi Kholiquzzaman Ahmad
Chairman, PKSF
Member of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC),

which won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2007

Mr. Md. Abdul Karim
Managing Director, PKSF
(Former Principal Secretary to the Government of Bangladesh)

Dr. Pratima Paul-Majumder
Former Senior Research Fellow
Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies (BIDS)

Dr. A.K.M. Nurun Nabi
Sociologist, Vice-Chancellor, Begum Rokeya University, Rangpur

Dr. Mihir Kanti Majumder
Chairman, Palli Sanchoy Bank and
Former Secretary to the Government of Bangladesh

Mr. Khondkar Ibrahim Khaled
Banker, Former Deputy Governor, Bangladesh Bank and
Former Chairman, Bangladesh Krishi Bank (BKB)

Dr. M. A. Quassem
Hydrologist, Chairman,

National Disaster Management Advisory Committee

Professor M. A. Baqui Khalily
Former Professor, Department of Finance,
Dhaka University and Executive Director
Institute of Micro-finance (InM)

Ms. Nihad Kabir
Barrister-at-Law, Senior Partner
Syed Ishtiaq Ahmed & Associates (SIA&A)

Mr. C. M. Shafi Sami
Former Foreign Secretary and
Former Adviser to the Caretaker Government of Bangladesh

Dr. Bondana Saha
Supernumerary Professor and
Former Director General
Bangladesh Institute of Bank Management (BIBM)

Ms. Bulbul Mohalanabish
Southeast University, Dhaka

Mr. Md. Emranul Haque Chowdhury
Executive Director
UDDIPAN (a Partner Organisation of PKSF)

Begum Razia Hossain
Executive Director
Mohila Bohumukhi Shikkha Kendra
(a Partner Organisation of PKSF)

Mr. Ishtiaq Uddin Ahmad
Country Representative for IUCN
(International Union for Conservation of Nature) and
Former Chief Conservator of Forests, Bangladesh

Mr. Nazir Ahmed Khan
Former Chief Executive, Bangladesh Bank Training Academy

Dr. Nazneen Ahmed
Senior Research Fellow, Bangladesh Institute of Development Studies (BIDS)

Professor Shafi Ahmed
Professor, Department of English, Dhaka University

Ambassador Munshi Faiz Ahmad
Chairman, Bangladesh Institute of International and Strategic Studies (BIISS)

Mrs. Monowara Hakim Ali
Senior Vice President, Federation of Bangladesh Chambers of Commerce and Industries (FBCCI)

Mr. S.M. Wahiduzzaman Babur
Head of Finance, Admin, HR and IT, Practical Action Bangladesh

Dr. Mujib Uddin Ahmad
Professor and Chairperson, Department of Tourism and Hospitality Management, University of Dhaka